荧光寿命成像(FLIM)

荧光寿命成像是一种光学成像技术,其中每个像素的亮度代表荧光寿命,而不是光强度。荧光寿命是分子在发射光子之前保持其激发态的特征时间。该特征时间不仅取决于特定的荧光团,还取决于其环境。分子相互作用影响弛豫过程并改变荧光团的寿命。因此,FLIM可以区分分子相互作用的不同阶段。此外,荧光寿命不随分子浓度变化,因此非常适合研究分子层级上的生化作用,因为在此层级上,样本中的荧光团浓度通常既不均匀也不稳定。

在各类FLIM方法中,时间相关单光子计数(TCSPC)可实现最高的时间分辨率和光子检测效率。上图显示了将FLIM与扫描共聚焦显微镜相结合的典型设置,可提供空间滤波,并改善轴向分辨率。设备主要构件包括:x-y-z压电扫描仪,可对样本进行亚微米级分辨率扫描;皮秒脉冲激光(Swabian Instruments DLnSec 520);光子计数检测器(如Excelitas AQRH)。所有信号均由Swabian Instruments Time Tagger捕获。

在时间相关单光子计数实验(如TCSPC-FLIM)中,可达到的时间分辨率通常受激光脉冲的持续时间及探测器和TDC的电子抖动限制。超快激光器可解决大多数实验中的脉冲持续时间问题,而探测器的电子抖动通常才是关键参数。例如,典型的单光子雪崩探测器(SPAD)抖动约为50到300 ps。另一方面,现代超导纳米线单光子探测器(SNSPD)的发展已经实现低于15皮秒的时间分辨率。为利用这种探测器获得最佳时间分辨率,TDC抖动最好比探测器抖动小两倍以上。

以上系统可提供极大的灵活性,可在运行时并行加工和存储所有信号。强大的功能组合,把技术准备和系统校准的时间压缩至最低。例如,您可以一键直接在软件中轻松以1皮秒的精度补偿所有电缆延迟。虚拟通道使您能够组合来自多个探测器的计数,用以表示总强度或探测器之间的符合事件。


Swabian Instruments FLIM系统的优势

为探测器的未来发展做好准备

Swabian Instruments Time Tagger系列灵活的超导纳米线输入阶段可让您的系统无缝接入所有常见的FLIM探测器,包括光电倍增管(PMT),单光子雪崩探测器(SPAD)和超导纳米线单光子探测器(SNSPD),同时可充分利用信号的最高上升时间。高时间分辨率可确保您能接入将来问世的新型低抖动探测器。

为多通道FLIM做好准备,还能将您的创新成像模式投入应用

利用Swabian Time Tagger的高数据速率和高通道数,可通过多色探测通道实施高质量的荧光寿命成像实验或应用新型成像模式,如STED,PALM和STORM。通过添加新的触发信号,您还可以快速开发创新的成像模式。

实现工作自动化–从Matlab,Labview,Python,C#,C/C++中强大的本机库获益

Swabian Instruments所拥有的编程库具有强大的实验室自动化功能,只需10行以下的代码(或少于10个LabVIEW VI),就可以让您用喜欢的编程语言实施全面的FLIM实验。

Fluorescence Lifetime Imaging (FLIM)

Fluorescence lifetime imaging is an optical imaging technique in which the brightness of each pixel represents fluorescence lifetime – rather than optical intensity. The fluorescence lifetime is a characteristic time during which a molecule remains in its excited state before emitting a photon. This characteristic time depends not only on the specific fluorophore but also on its environment. Molecular interactions influence relaxation processes and modify fluorophore lifetimes. Therefore, FLIM can discriminate different stages of molecular interaction. Moreover, lifetime does not depend on molecular concentrations and is therefore particularly beneficial for studying biochemical interactions on molecular scales where the fluorophore concentrations in a specimen are typically neither uniform nor steady.

Among various FLIM methods, the time-correlated single-photon counting (TCSPC) approach delivers the highest time resolution and photon detection efficiency. The figure above shows a typical setup that combines FLIM with scanning confocal microscopy, to provide spatial filtering and improved axial resolution. The essential ingredients are an x-y-z piezo scanner that scans the sample with sub-micrometer resolution, a picosecond pulsed laser (Swabian Instruments DLnSec 520), and a photon-counting detector (e.g. Excelitas AQRH). All signals are captured with a Swabian Instruments Time Tagger.

In time-correlated single-photon counting experiments like TCSPC-FLIM, the achievable time resolution is typically limited by the laser pulse duration and the electronic jitter of the detector and TDC. With the availability of ultrafast lasers, the pulse duration is not an issue for most experiments, while the electronic jitter of the detector is often the key parameter. For instance, typical single-photon avalanche detectors (SPADs) have jitter on the order of 50 to 300 ps. On the other hand, the development of modern superconducting nano-wire single-photon detectors (SNSPDs) already provides a time resolution below to 15 picoseconds. To achieve the best possible time resolution with such detectors, it is desired that the TDC jitter is about a factor of two smaller than the detector jitter or lower.

The system shown above provides great flexibility. It allows for on-the-fly, parallel processing and storing of all signals. A set of powerful features makes sure that you minimize the time you spend on technical preparation and system calibration. For example, you can easily compensate all cable delays with a precision of one picosecond directly in the software with one click. Virtual channels enable you to combine the counts from several detectors to represent total intensities or coincidence events between detectors.


Your benefits from a Swabian Instruments FLIM system

You are ready for upcoming detector developments

The flexible input stages of Swabian Instruments Time Tagger Series allow you to seamlessly interface all common FLIM detectors with your system, including photo-multiplier-tubes (PMT), single-photon avalanche detectors (SPAD), and superconducting nanowire single-photon detectors (SNSPD), while taking advantage of the highest rise time of your signals. The high time resolution ensures that you are ready for new low jitter detectors that will be available in the future.

You are ready for multichannel FLIM and the implementation of your own novel imaging modes

Benefit from the high data rate and high channel count of Swabian’s Time Tagger to implement high-performance Fluorescence Lifetime Imaging experiments with multi-chromatic detection channels or novel imaging modes such as STED, PALM, and STORM By adding your own trigger signals, you can quickly develop your own novel imaging modes.

Automate your work – benefit from powerful native libraries in Matlab, Labview, Python, C#, C/C++

Swabian Instruments’ programming libraries enable you to implement a full-blown FLIM experiment with powerful lab automation capabilities within less than 10 lines of code (or less than 10 lab view VI’s) in your favorite programming language.