线性光学量子信息科学

在线性光学量子计算(LOQC)中,量子比特被编码为纠缠光子的量子状态,而算法转换则是通过线性光学元件(如分束器、相位延迟器和反射镜)来实现。通过将线性光学元件与单光子探测器和事后选择技术巧妙地组合在一起,可以实现双量子比特门。探测器会投射并测量单光子的量子态,从而引入有效的非线性度。在实践中,LOQC实验中的计算结果是通过检测和关联系统输出处的单个光子来提取的。

最常见的单光子探测器是单光子雪崩二极管(SPAD)和超导纳米线单光子探测器(SNSPD)。SPAD具有良好的量子效率(在700 nm左右可达70%),低暗计数率,小巧且易于使用。SNSPD具有更高级的探测性能,量子效率超过90%,时序分辨率低至15 ps。单光子探测器的电输出会导致大量的单光子触发事件流。全球各地的顶尖研究人员会使用Swabian Instruments Time Taggers来实时探测此类数据流中的多重符合事件,并不断提取量子信息。


Swabian Instruments Time Tagger系列的优势

已做好扩大实验规模的准备

Time Tagger Ultra系列可同步处理8组单光子探测器的信号。每组18条通道,最高可达144个单光子探测器。以硬件为基础的条件过滤器仅捕获与实验测量相关的探测信息,从而可以降低数据速率。Time Taggers的软件引擎具有多种优势,比如可单独对每条通道进行灵活的延迟调整,从而可对同步信号和所有检测到的事件进行适当的时间调节以实现符合测量。

实现工作自动化–从Matlab,Labview,Python,C#,C/C++中强大的本机库获益

Swabian Instruments的编程库让您能够使用自己喜欢的编程语言来获取数据并进行分析。使用内嵌的虚拟通道,可以即时、轻松地执行复杂的符合测量。如果有需要,软件引擎可以存储检测到的每个事件,用于数据归档或脱机处理。

为探测器的未来发展做好准备

无论您使用的是SPAD还是SNSPD,Time Tagger系列灵活的输入阶段可与所有探测器无缝衔接,同时可充分利用信号的最高上升时间。高时间分辨率可确保您能接入将来问世的新型低抖动探测器。

实施您的创新研究思路

强大的软件库让您可以轻松扩展,快速实践自己的研究思路。例如,牛津大学的研究人员在Time Tagger Ultra 18上运行自己的实时处理插件,可以测量由线性光学量子芯片产生的500多个高阶符合率。

Linear Optics Quantum Information

In the Linear Optics approach to Quantum Computation (LOQC) qubits are encoded in quantum states of entangled photons while algorithmic transformations are performed with linear optical elements such as beam splitters, phase retarders, and mirrors. Two-qubit gates are implemented by combining linear optical elements in a clever way with single-photon detectors and post-selection. The detectors project and measure the quantum states of single photons and thereby introduce effective non-linearities. In practice, computation results in LOQC experiments are extracted by detecting and correlating individual photons at the system output.

The most common single-photon detectors are Single Photon Avalanche Diodes (SPADs) and Superconducting Nanowire Single Photon Detectors (SNSPDs). SPADs have good quantum efficiency (up to 70 % around 700 nm), low dark count rates, are compact and easy to use. SNSPDs have further advanced the detection performance with quantum efficiencies in excess of 90 % and timing resolution down to 15 ps. The electric outputs of single-photon detectors result in massive streams of single-photon trigger events. Leading researchers around the world employ Swabian Instruments Time Taggers to detect multi-coincidence events in such data streams on-the-fly and continuously extract quantum information.


Your benefits from a Swabian Instruments Time Tagger

You are ready to scale up

Swabian Instruments’ Time Tagger Ultra Series enables you to synchronize up to 8 units, each with 18 channels, to process signals from up to 144 single-photon detectors. Hardware-based conditional filter allows reducing data-rates by capturing only the detection events relevant to your measurement. Features provided by the Time Taggers’ software engine, include flexible delay tuning on each channel independently so that the sync signal and all detected events can be properly time adjusted for coincidence measurement.

Automate your work – benefit from powerful native libraries in Matlab, Labview, Python, C#, C/C++

Swabian Instruments’ programming libraries enable you to acquire data and perform analysis in your favorite programming language. Complex, multi-fold coincidence measurements can be performed on-the-fly and with ease using built-in virtual channels. When required, the software engine allows storing every detected event for data archival purpose or offline processing.

You are ready for upcoming detector developments

Whether you are using SPADs or SNSPD, the flexible input stages of the Time Tagger Series allow you to interface all your detectors seamlessly while taking advantage of the highest rise time of your signals. The high time resolution ensures that you are ready for new low jitter detectors that will be available in the future.

Implement your own novel research ideas

Build upon a powerful software library that can be easily extended. You can rapidly implement your research ideas. Researchers at the University of Oxford, for example, have implemented their own on-the-fly processing plug-in that runs with a single Time Tagger Ultra 18 and is capable to measure more than 500 higher-order coincidence rates on-the-fly, that is generated by a linear optics quantum chip.