全球网络

德国总部
Swabian Instruments GmbH
Stammheimer Str. 41
70435 Stuttgart
Germany
中国办公室
Swabian Instruments China LLC
No. 465 Guohe Road
Shanghai, 200433
China
美国办公室
Swabian Instruments USA Inc.
1127 Harrison Ave
Boston, MA, 02119
USA

关于我们

Swabian Instruments是位于德国斯图加特的一家专注测量技术的高科技公司。我们开发、销售使用方便、功能强大的数据采集和信号生成系统。我们的仪器为全球科学家进行创新研究提供助力。我们的Time Tagger系列产品奠定了我们在时间相关的单光子计数仪器开发领域的技术领导者地位。

使命愿景

我们致力于尽可能使数据采集和信号生成的过程变得简化和直观

借助我们的产品,科学家仅需几行代码就可以实现他们的研究思想,并帮助他们将花费在实际研究上的时间最大化。我们对系统的体系结构和用户交互的界面进行了很多思考,并改变了现代数据采集和信号生成系统可能的范围。

创业源起

Swabian Instruments由Helmut Fedder,Michael Schlagmüller和Markus Wick于2016年创立,其目标是使该团队在斯图加特大学开发的时间标记技术商业化。

创始人为了找到一款可以满足日常研究工作中的需求,合作开展了新型单光子计数仪器的原型设计。他们设计的仪器不仅性能优越,可以满足单光子量子物理学应用所需的苛刻要求,同时操作非常简单。第一款Time Tagger很快在全球研究界广为人知,并激发创始人成立Swabian Instruments。

发展历程

2016

依托在斯图加特大学物理系的研究工作中开发的第一款时间数字转换器Time Tagger 20,Swabian Instruments获得德国联邦经济事务和能源部(BMWi)的商业启动计划“EXIST”的资助而正式成立。

2017

新一代时间数字转换器 Time Tagger Ultra 面世,它兼具优于10皮秒的均方根时间抖动和高达每秒7000万次的数据传输率。
Swabian Instruments第二款支柱产品——信号发生器 Pulse Streamer 8/2 也在这一年正式发布。

2018

Swabian Instruments荣获巴登-符腾堡州创新奖。

2019

Swabian Instruments再一次改写了时间数字转换器的时间分辨率记录。借助并行化抽头延迟线结构,通过基于FPGA构建的时间数字转换器实现了低至2.7皮秒的均方根时间抖动。
Markus Wick在基本完成电气工程博士学位后,正式加入Swabian Instruments担任首席技术官。
Swabian Instruments结束在斯图加特大学的“车库创业”阶段,迁至斯图加特-祖文豪森的新址。
同年Swabian Instruments入围德国最负盛名的企业家奖“Deutscher Gründerpreis”的前三名。

创业团队

Helmut Fedder博士

Helmut Fedder负责公司的战略和事业发展。自2010年初以来,他加入斯图加特大学Jörg Wrachtrup教授实验室领导基于金刚石色心的固态量子物理学研究小组,其间他也一直在推动Swabian Instruments技术的发展。Helmut在跨学科的理论和实验物理学领域拥有广泛的知识,在Swabian Instruments成立之初,他设计了Time Tagger和Pulse Streamer最初的FPGA内核。

Markus Wick先生

Markus Wick领导公司的研发工作,涵盖了从硬件到软件的完整技术链条。Markus拥有斯图加特大学的电气工程硕士学位,并正在Wolfgang Rucker教授指导下从事多谐波电动力学理论计算的博士课题研究。通过参与多个高性能开源软件项目,他在软件开发方面积累了丰富的经验。Markus在2011年开发了Time Tagger的核心软件技术。

Michael Schlagmüller博士

Michael Schlagmüller负责公司的整体运营并管理硬件、软件产品的维护和用户支持团队。在完成他的电子工程专业的硕士学习后,Michael加入斯图加特大学Tilman Pfau教授实验室攻读实验物理学博士学位,在那里他从零开始搭建了一套完整的冷原子实验系统。

研究项目

Swabian Instruments是全球单光量子技术的领导者。公司成立以来,我们提供的解决方案已经为光量子技术领域内突破性的研究和商业发展提供支持。我们与合作伙伴一道,共同努力将量子技术推向商业应用,并积极参与欧洲乃至全球量子技术应用生态的塑造。

Q.link.X logo

2018年,Swabian Instruments加入由德国联邦教育和研究部资助的Q.Link.X项目。Q.Link.X项目由波恩大学Dieter Meschede教授领导,由德国众多领先的量子技术研究小组共同参与,旨在实现德国第一次可扩展量子中继器链接。项目联盟将结合包括量子点、金刚石氮空位和冷原子/离子在内的不同技术平台的优势以及单光子频率转换,为全国混合量子中继器网络奠定基础。Swabian Instruments在项目中负责开发新型高带宽单光子时间标记解决方案。

QIA logo

为了将研究活动扩展到欧洲范围,Swabian Instruments于2018年参与了量子互联网联盟(QIA)项目。该项目由荷兰代尔夫特大学Stephanie Wehner教授率领,汇集了欧洲领先的理论和实验物理学小组组成的联盟与一群规模较小的大型高科技公司合作,共同在欧洲享有盛誉的量子旗舰计划的框架下建立了欧洲量子互联网和分布式计算架构。从物理层开始,该团队将开发整个量子通信技术堆栈,直至高层协议层。 Swabian Instruments正在开发所需的同步分布式光子时间标记架构,该架构提供了用于处理时间标记流的抽象层。

IQST logo

2020年,在量子科学技术研究院(IQST)的支持下,Swabian Instruments与斯图加特大学Jens Anders教授和乌尔姆大学Fedor Jelezko教授紧密合作,共同开展面向下一代时间数字转换器的研究。其中的STRATUS项目将提供一个博士研究项目,这也标志着Swabian Instruments尝试ASIC设计的开始,为我们转型为半导体公司铺平了道路。

QUDOT-TECH logo

为了加强欧洲在量子技术工程领域的卓越表现,Swabian Instruments于2020年加入QUDOT-Tech项目。该项目由丹麦技术大学Nils Gregersen教授领导,汇集了欧洲各地的顶级研究团队,以培训早期研究人员基于量子点的量子技术并建立一个集成的光子量子处理平台。Swabian Instruments的研究人员将为此开发一种连接量子芯片与经典电子层的高分辨率的单光子处理系统。

SINPHOSS logo

在2020年夏季开始的SINPHOSS项目中,Swabian Instruments将与明斯特大学Wolfram Pernice教授团队合作开发THz甚至更高带宽的光学测量技术。我们使用基于最新的硅集成电路技术开发的快速时间数字转换器,并将其与当前最快的超导单光子探测器相结合。我们将努力实现300飞秒的时间分辨率,以开发适应未来需求的光子量子技术和宽带光学测量技术。

合作伙伴

自2017年以来,Swabian Instruments与基于超导纳米线单光子探测器研发领域的先进企业Photon Spot合作,共同开发、销售高性能光子计数解决方案。

从2018年开始,Swabian Instruments与商用超导探测器领域的领导品牌Single Quantum开展合作。集成了Single Quantum的Eos超导纳米线单光子探测器和Swabian Instruments的含HighRes版本的Time Tagger Ultra的单光子信号采集系统刷新了的时间相关单光子计数的定时抖动的最低记录。

自2021年以来,Swabian Instruments在中国与东方科捷(Orient Koji Scientific)合作开发制造用于荧光表征的定制化系统。

目前Swabian Instruments正与高性能超导纳米线探测器生产商赋同量子(PHOTEC)合作,为量子物理实验研究提供低抖动的单光子计数和探测技术。

荣誉

“由开发人员带来的领先技术和创新突破”
“由开发人员带来的领先技术和创新突破”

2021 年, Swabian Instruments将Stuttgarter Innovationspreis收入囊中。这一享有盛誉的奖项旨在表彰来自斯图加特的杰出企业,这些公司以其创新理念塑造着未来。

该奖项由包括斯图加特市长 Frank Nopper 博士和著名的创新专家以及该地区成功的企业家共同组成的评审团评选产生。

此次Swabian Instruments因在过去几年中与来自世界各国的用户共同推动的光量子技术尖端测量仪器的发展而受到表彰。

Stuttgarter Innovationspreis 2021 的官方网站上了解更多信息并观看颁奖典礼。

Swabian Instruments在2019年入围德国最负盛名的企业家奖项——企业创始人奖Deutscher Gründerpreis三甲。

Swabian Instruments赢得来自保时捷、《亮点》周刊、德国电视二台ZDF和储蓄银行Sparkasse的评审专家的青睐,在600多个杰出候选企业中脱颖而出。Swabian Instruments杰出的科研能力和现场令人信服的展示给评委会留下深刻印象。

该奖项表彰了我们的技术对高精度数字测量产生的影响。访问企业创始人奖的官方网站查看更多关于我们获奖的新闻。

“高校科技成果转化的成功案例”
“高校科技成果转化的成功案例”
“测量一切可测之物,并把不可测的变为可测”
“测量一切可测之物,并把不可测的变为可测”

2018年度巴登-符腾堡州创新奖Innovationspreis Baden-Württemberg由州经济、劳动和住房建设部部长Nicole Hoffmeister-Kraut博士授予Swabian Instruments。

评审委员Christine Neuy博士引用伽利略的名言“测量一切可测之物,并把不可测的变为可测”,总结了公司创始人Helmut Fedder博士,Michael Schlagmüller博士和Markus Wick先生的杰出成就,“研发Time Tagger是三位科学家对测量技术的革新,这使得全世界的科学家能够以灵活,便捷的方式完成测量。”

Cookie Policy

We use third party service providers, like Freshworks Inc ("Freshworks") to enable interaction with you on our website and/or our product. As a data processor acting on our behalf, Freshworks automatically receives and records certain information of yours like device model, IP address, the type of browser being used and usage pattern through cookies and browser settings. Freshworks performs analytics on such data on our behalf which helps us improve our service to you. You can read about the cookies Freshworks' sets in their cookie policy here.

About

Swabian Instruments is a test and measurement company headquartered in Stuttgart, Germany. We develop and sell digital data acquisition and signal generation systems that are easy to use, performant, and packed with useful features. Our instruments empower scientists around the globe to perform groundbreaking research. With our Time Tagger Series, we are emerging as the technology leader in time-correlated single photon counting instrumentation. We are a growing and founder-led company.

Mission Statement

We strive to make data acquisition and signal generation as easy and intuitive as possible.

We enable scientists to implement their research ideas with just a few lines of code and help them maximize the time they spend on their actual research. We put lots of thoughts into our system's architectures and the interface that the user interacts with and shift the boundary of what is possible with modern data acquisition and signal generation systems.

Roots

Swabian Instruments was founded in 2016 by Helmut Fedder, Michael Schlagmüller, and Markus Wick with the goal of commercializing the time tagging technology that the team had developed at the University of Stuttgart.

The founders had worked together on novel instrumentation for single-photon counting that they needed for their research. They had designed instrumentation that satisfied the demanding requirements posed by single-photon quantum physics applications. At the same time, the new system was so easy to use that new team members were able to work with it efficiently from day one. The first Time Tagger quickly became known within the research community worldwide and sparked the foundation of Swabian Instruments.

History

2016

Swabian Instruments is founded as a spin-off of the University of Stuttgart within an EXIST scholarship with the goal to commercialize the Time Tagger 20 FPGA technology.

2017

The Time Tagger Ultra is released, increasing the timing resolution below 10 ps RMS jitter and boosting the data rate to 65 M tags/s. With the release of the Pulse Streamer 8/2, Swabian Instruments establishes a second business pillar: fast digital pattern generation.

2018

Swabian Instruments receives the Innovation Award of the State of Baden-Württemberg.

2019

By parallelizing tapped-delay-lines, Swabian Instruments demonstrates a record-breaking timing resolution with FPGA based time-to-digital converters of 2.7 ps RMS jitter. After completing his PhD in electrical engineering, Markus Wick joins Swabian Instruments as a shareholder and CTO. Swabian Instruments moves out of its University start-up garage to its new location in Stuttgart Zuffenhausen. Swabian Instruments is a top-3 finalist of the "Deutscher Gründerpreis", Germany's most prestigious entrepreneur award.

Management Team

CEO and Co-Founder

Dr. Helmut Fedder

Helmut Fedder is responsible for company strategy and business development. He has been driving the development of Swabian Instruments' technology since early 2010. Helmut did his PhD in physics at the TU Enschede working on micro-fluidics and optics. He went on to work as a research team leader in the group of Jörg Wrachtrup at the University of Stuttgart, studying solid-state quantum physics with color centers in diamond. Helmut has a broad knowledge in theoretical and experimental physics across disciplines. In the early days of Swabian Instruments, he designed the first versions of the Time Tagger and Pulse Streamer FPGA cores.

COO and Co-Founder

Dr. Michael Schlagmüller

Michael Schlagmüller drives our overall operations and maintains the high-quality standard of our hardware, software, and support. After completing his MSc. (BA) in electrical engineering, Michael moved on to pursue a PhD in experimental physics in the group of Tilman Pfau at the University of Stuttgart, where he set up a complete ultracold Rydberg atom experiment from scratch.

CTO and Co-Founder

Dipl.-Ing. Markus Wick

Markus Wick leads our R&D and covers the full technology stack from hardware - FPGA firmware - C++ backend to GUI software. Markus studied electrical engineering at the University of Stuttgart and pursued a PhD in theoretical electrical engineering in the group of Wolfgang Rucker, working on multi-harmonic electro-dynamics computations. By contributing to several high-performance open source software projects, he has gained deep experience in software development. Markus developed the heart of the Time Tagger technology in 2011.

Projects

Swabian Instruments is a global single-photon quantum technology leader. Our solutions have empowered groundbreaking research and commercialization initiatives within the optical quantum technologies since our incorporation. Together with our partners, we are committed to drive quantum technology to market and actively shape the European quantum technology ecosystem.

Q.link.X logo

In 2018 Swabian Instruments joined the Q.Link.X project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (Germany). Spearheaded by Prof. Dieter Meschede from the University of Bonn, and run by a consortium of leading quantum technology research groups in Germany, the project Q.link.X ("quantum link extension") aims at realizing an extended quantum repeater link for the very first time. Combining the strengths of different technology platforms, such as quantum dots and nitrogen-vacancy centers as well as combinations of cold atom and ion systems alongside with single-photon frequency conversion, the consortium will lay the ground for a national hybrid quantum repeater network. Swabian Instruments is developing the required next-generation high bandwidth single-photon time tagging solutions that empower the consortium with hardware-based event filtering.

QIA logo

To expand its research activities to the European level, Swabian Instruments joined the Quantum Internet Alliance (QIA) project in 2018. The project, spearheaded by Prof. Stephanie Wehner from the TU Delft gathers a consortium of leading theory and experimental physics groups across Europe together with a group of small size to large scale high-tech companies in a joint effort to build a European quantum internet and distributed computing architecture under the umbrella of Europe's prestigious quantum flagship program. Starting from the physical layer, the team will develop the entire quantum communication technology stack up to high-level protocol layers. Swabian Instruments is developing the required synchronized distributed photon time-tagging architecture that provides an abstraction layer for handling time tag streams.

IQST logo

In 2020, Swabian Instruments joined a close collaboration with Prof. Jens Anders from the University of Stuttgart and Prof. Fedor Jelezko from the University of Ulm, supported by the Institue for Quantum Science and Technology (IQST), to pioneer research on next-generation time-to-digital converters. The project STRATUS, carried out by a joint PhD student, marked the start of Swabian Instruments' ASIC design activities and paves the way for Swabian Instruments to become a semiconductor company.

QUDOT-TECH logo

In a European effort to strengthen excellence within quantum tech engineering, Swabian Instruments joined the QUDOT-Tech project in 2020. The project, spearheaded by Nils Gregersen from the Technical University of Denmark, brings together top research groups across Europe to train early-stage researchers within quantum-dot based quantum technology. The team will build an integrated photonic quantum processing platform. Swabian instruments' researcher will develop a high time resolution single photon processing system that interfaces the quantum chip with the classical electronics layer.

SINPHOSS logo

In the SINPHOSS project, which started in Summer 2020, Swabian Instruments joined forces with the team of Prof. Wolfram Pernice at the University of Münster to develop optical measurement technology with a bandwidth up to a THz and beyond. We develop fast time-to-digital converters as integrated circuits using the latest silicon technology and combine them with the fastest superconducting single photon detectors available today. With a targeted timing resolution of 300 femtoseconds, we are pioneering the photonic quantum technology and broadband optical measurement technology of tomorrow.

Partners

Swabian Instruments is working together with one of the pioneering companies within Superconducting Nanowire Single-Photon Detectors - Photon Spot - to develop and market high-performance photon counting solutions since 2017.

Since 2018, Swabian Instruments has been working together with Single Quantum, that makes the fastest commercially available superconducting detectors. Together, the companies have demonstrated a TCSPC setup with a record-breaking low timing jitter using a Single Quantum Eos SNSPD system and Swabian Instruments' Time Tagger Ultra HiRes.

„Remarkable economic development that is rarely achieved by an innovative university spin-off“
„Remarkable economic development that is rarely achieved by an innovative university spin-off“

In 2019 Swabian Instruments was a Top 3 finalist of the Deutscher Gründerpreis, Germany's most prestigious entrepreneur award.

The distinguished jury of the partner companies Porsche, Stern, ZDF, and the Sparkasse selected Swabian Instruments out of more than 600 prominent nominees. The jury was impressed by the "outstanding scientific competence" and the "persuasiveness of the founders".

The award recognizes the impact that our technology creates for high precision digital measurements. Have a look at Swabian Instruments' page on the official site of the Deutscher Gründerpreis.

In 2018 the Innovationspreis Baden-Württemberg, the most prestigious innovation award in the state, was awarded to Swabian Instruments by the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Dr. Nicole Hoffmeister-Kraut.

In her laudation, Dr. Christine Neuy, Managing Director of the microTEC cluster Südwest, summarized the outstanding achievements of Dr. Helmut Fedder, Dr. Michael Schlagmüller, and Markus Wick with a quote from Galileo Galilei: "Measure what can be measured, and make measurable what cannot be measured." "With the development of the Time Tagger, the three scientists have revolutionized measurement technology and enabled scientists all over the world to perform their measurements in a flexible, scalable, and cost-efficient way", she said.

„Measure what can be measured, and make measurable what cannot be measured.“
„Measure what can be measured, and make measurable what cannot be measured.“